Give Me the Banjo #Netflix365

The banjo is described as the quintessential American instrument.  The banjo has 300 years of history.  Early banjos were made of gourds created by black slaves for entertainment.  In the PBS documentary Give Me the Banjo, Steve Martin narrates the history of the banjo and how it went from rustic humble beginnings to a jazz and bluegrass staple.  I have no idea how to play any instrument, but I found the documentary very interesting.  I also found that there is a background in my family history that includes the banjo.  L.B. Gatcomb from Maine was a creator and seller of the banjo.    At one time the Gatcomb Banjo was held in high regards (late 19th century) , There are still a few around today.  

Whether you play the banjo or enjoy listening (or even if do not) you should enjoy this film.  This is a part of Americana that has become ingrained in current bluegrass and jazz music genres.  Watch this film.

What are you watching?

#SeanSpeak

6 comments

  1. Marc Fields · August 6, 2012

    Sean,
    Gatcomb had a Guitar and Banjo Gazette in the 1880s — from which I drew one of the inspirational statements for The Banjo Project:
    “Probably no instrument has ever had to fight its way through such bitter antagonism as the banjo,” (Bert E. Shattuck, editor, “Gatcomb’s Banjo and Guitar Gazette, 1887)

    Like

  2. Sean Gatcomb · August 6, 2012

    Marc, Thank you for the comment. I enjoyed your documentary, it was informative and entertaining. Whether it is Steve Martin, Jerry Van Dyke or the Smothers Brothers, you know when they pull out the banjo it is going to be a fun time. As for my relation to LB Gatcomb, I do not know exactly how but I think my grandfather (my fathers side) is either a son or nephew. Will have to do more research.

    Thanks again,

    Sean

    Like

  3. Bill · September 5, 2012

    Came across this page while reseraching Gatcomb banjos. You probaly know the company has been resurected in maine by descendents.

    Like

    • Sean Gatcomb · September 5, 2012

      I saw that there was a company. From what I can tell the family has an interesting history but are not close, due to distance and never have meeting. From what I can tell it is a great instrument, and I hope they do well bringing it back to glory.

      Thanks for reading and the comment.

      Sean

      Like

  4. Bill · September 5, 2012

    Just thoguht you’d like to know that I bought a banjo and am having a custom ukulele built as we speak. Oh happy days!

    Like

  5. Sean Gatcomb · September 5, 2012

    Good luck, I have seen that the banjo is well sought after and I hope you get many notes of pleasure from it. Happy days indeed!

    Like

Leave a comment